canada goose parka women

Architects

Home - Architects

Staay:craft in the postindustrial age

date:2011-12-18 14:54:55 click:205

Through analyzing two projects that involved his contributions, Maurits van der Staay pointed out that the ‘craft’ of the architect lies not only in his ability to sketch, draw, and design, but also in his understanding of the production processes involved.
 

 


Maurits van der Staay accepted interview by the media, including Hunter Douglas in China.

 

Interviewee: Maurits van der Staay, partner of Renzo Piano Building Workshop. His works include Potzdamerplatz in Berlin and Central Saint Giles London. (Hereinafter referred to as ‘Staay’)

Interviewer: Megan Wu, Reporter of Hunter Douglas in China (Hereinafter referred to as ‘Reporter’)

Photographer: Angela Huang, Reporter of Hunter Douglas in China

 

Reporter: During your presentation, you mentioned “architectural craft” a lot. It reflects the customization of building materials. What do you think craft means? Does it have any difference with traditional craft?

 

Staay: Craft traditionally means made by hand. The articulations you see in many architectural masterpieces are partly made by hand. The use and development of ceramic elements in buildings is a very old craft. The relatively recent possibility of customization in modern industry allows us to generate a more complex, and therefore more crafted, appearance in architecture. With this, we are able to create more sustainable building facades.

 

Craft traditionally reveals itself in the detail; the manmade details show the traces of the craftsman working the material – the uninterrupted sequence from thought, hands, and tools, to the transforming of the raw material into building parts. We are tempted to think that the speed of contemporary construction should not allow for handcraft and such sophisticated detailing. Too much handwork would be involved and this would be far too expensive and make it impossible to realize economically viable constructions.

 

 


Architectural Model (Left) and Facade Structure (Right)

 

Industrialization and mass production brought about a fair amount of standardization. This meant that individual building elements should become simpler and more repetitive. In the last 20 years however, machines and industries have developed towards a greater capacity for customization, allowing for more complicated and varied production. With NBK we had this experience right from the beginning when we started to work on the facades of the Debis and the other Buildings at Potzdamerplatz in Berlin.

 

The concept of “craft” is not only to be understood in this way. It applies also largely to our way of working as an architectural practice, between designing by drawing, making models, discussing, experimenting, making errors, and exploring all parameters that make up a building, as well as working together with the industry and their possibilities. The ‘craft’ of the architect lies not only in his ability to sketch, draw, and design, but also in his understanding of the production processes involved.

 

Reporter: Both the Potzdamerplatz in Berlin and Central Saint Giles London feature ceramic elements. Are there any differences between the two?

 

Staay: The projects look different because the situations in which they were built were different. Potzdamerplatz in Berlin was built in a new area and in a newly created context. On the contrary, Saint Giles in London is located in the old city center.

 


Central Saint Giles London (L) and Potsdam Plaza (R)

 

We had to deal with listed buildings and the medieval street patterns around the area, things to which we wanted to respond appropriately. To do this, we wanted to give a crafted appearance to the facades. In this sense, the two projects are very different. In order to find the right composition of the facets, many sketches and models were produced in our studio, in foam, wood, and other materials. Following this process, we worked together with the manufacturer NBK, to test the profiles and fixing methods possible for preliminary mock-ups. In these, the depth, color, and grain of the ceramic elements are tested. We like the ceramic material, as it is very durable. The appearance and color of the ceramic is dependent on many parameters, like the types of clay, the form and thickness of the extrusions, as well as the drying process, the burning process, the cutting process, and the glazing process. In order to meet our requirements, the ceramic elements for Potzdamerplatz in Berlin and Central Saint Giles London have undergone many tests and adjustments. In Saint Giles, we used more than 700 different pieces. We also chose different colors and glazings to improve the appearance of the building and create surprises for people. In my point of view, ceramic is a good material to achieve this.

 

Reporter: We know you played an important role in designing the facades of Potzdamerplatz in Berlin and Central Saint Giles London. Can tell something about your cooperation with NBK?

 

Staay: NBK is a very helpful company. We wanted to do different trials in different projects, and NBK was happy to do this. In the Saint Giles project, we worked together, made models, studied models, and discussed composition of materials. This is a good mode of cooperation. NBK keeps upgrading its products, thus creating more possibilities for building designs. For example, during the project in Berlin, we only did baguettes of 120cm or 130cm, but now we can do 150cm. There are also improvements in project quality and material quality. In addition, more shapes can be developed with architects.

 


RPBW worked together with NBK to discuss models, facade materials, colors and shapes.

 

 

 

· Design of Central Saint Giles London

 

Text by & Picture Courtesy of Maurits van der Staay

 

Central Saint Giles is building complex in the center of London occupying an island site of approximately 7000sqm on the crossroads between four important neighborhoods: Bloomsbury and Camden to the north, Holborn to the east, Covent Garden to the south, and Soho and Westminster to the west. It is a mixed-use development of 65000sqm with 42000sqm of offices and 9500sqm of residential. The investor for the buildings are Legal & General Ltd, (later joined by Mitsubishi Estates Corporation from Japan), developing with the Stanhope Plc. from London. The design process by RPBW was launched in 2001. Nine years later in May 2010, the project was completed.

 

Main Design Objectives

 

L&G owned the existing building, which was a rather gloomy building occupied by the Ministry of Defense. The brief for St Giles Court, presented by Legal & General, is to create a high density, mixed-use development that enhances the public realm of a location suffering from crime and anti-social behavior and creates compelling urban links to regenerate the St Giles area. One of the key challenges was to achieve landmark buildings with a strong identity that realize the full potential of the site while respecting the existing townscape and urban scale. The key points of interest and objectives in the design process are:

 

1. The enhancement of the site’s potential, as a destination in and of itself and as a pivotal place in its wider urban context

2. The intensification of activity on the site, with a balanced distribution of the building mass respecting and complementing its immediate urban vicinity

3. The improvement of the site’s public realm in relation with a mix of uses on the site

4. The careful use of colors and materials, crafted detailing, complementing the quality of its environment

5. The compliance of the design with today’s (and tomorrow’s) high quality standards on ecological and sustainability issues

 

|
Elevation

 

Feasibility Studies

 

In order to get insight in to the possibilities, opportunities, and constraints of the site, the team has undertaken an analysis of the wider area around the site. The site is positioned between four to five areas of major interest in central London, each with their own character, but not connected with each other: from the beginning it was clear that the site could very well be pivotal, as a hub between Covent Garden, Bloomsbury, Holborn, and Soho. As for the occupation of the site, a balance had to be found between the objective of densification, meaning a significant augmentation of built surface on the terrain, and the wish of the local borough of Camden for more housing in the area, as well as the goal to regenerate by means of public spaces and functions. It was very important to make the new site a destination in the center of the city, and at the same time a connecting area between the surrounding neighborhoods. Many studies on different configurations have resulted in a basic mixed-use scheme, comprising offices, housing, retail, and a public “piazza”, or square.

 

Massing & Fragmentation

 

Of particular concern was the massing of the new buildings, considering it would be also in a conservation area, defined by a medieval street pattern and the many listed buildings in the direct vicinity. The densification provided with the doubling of the built surface on the terrain, as opposed to the existing building, so we tried to find a way to break down the mass in order to fit in and respect the context of the surrounding streets and buildings. This was achieved by the fragmentation of the enveloping of the building into 21 different ‘faces’. These faces are positioned in different angles to one another around the building (13 towards the surrounding buildings and streets, 8 towards the inner courtyard). It is essential for this effect that the outward facing ceramic clad facades stand out by their color. The angles, gloss, and articulation of the faces enhance different appearances under different daylight conditions, going around the buildings.

 


Plane drawing (L) and design sketch (R) of Central Saint Giles London

 

Piazza, Permeability & Accessibility

 

The buildings develop around a central piazza on the ground floor, which at the same time serves as a destination in the city, a place to go to, as well as a thoroughfare connecting the surrounding neighborhoods: Covent Garden, Soho, Bloomsbury, and Holborn. In order to achieve this, all ground floor activities are kept as transparent as possible, lifting the entire mass of the buildings to a maximum of 6.5m above street level. With this, five passageways assure a maximum accessibility to the public square in the middle. Around the piazza a number of restaurants and terraces are allocated, and the main entrance to the office building is designed as a public ‘work lobby’, a space where people working in the building can meet or have coffee with a guest. One can actually see through the entire ground floor spaces from one street to the other end of the building. This is enhanced by the uniformity of the ground floor ceilings and the continuity from the ceilings, canopies, and the canopy of the oak tree placed in the center of the piazza.

 

 

 

· Gallery of Central Saint Giles London

 


Central Saint Giles London

 


Central Saint Giles London

 


Central Saint Giles London

 


Central Saint Giles London

 


Central Saint Giles London

 

 

 

canada goose parka women
canada goose parka women

canada goose parka women

建筑师

首页 - 建筑师

斯塔伊:后工业时代的建筑工艺

日期:2011-12-18 14:54:55 点击:4315

通过剖析与NBK合作的两个建筑案例,莫里斯•范•德•斯塔伊指出,建筑师的建筑工艺,不仅仅在于他的草图制作、画图和设计能力,也在于他对所涉及的生产过程的深刻了解。

 


活动现场,莫里斯•范•德•斯塔伊接受《亨特中国》等各家媒体的联合采访。

 

受访:莫里斯•范•德•斯塔伊,伦佐•皮亚诺建筑工作室合伙人,设计作品包括柏林波茨坦广场、伦敦圣依莱斯中心等。(以下简称“斯塔伊莫里斯”)

采访:《亨特中国》记者吴英华(以下简称“记者”)

摄影:《亨特中国》记者黄臻

 

记者:“建筑工艺”是您在演讲中反复强调的一个概念,反映了建筑材料的定制化发展趋势。在您看来,“建筑工艺”的具体内涵是什么,它与传统工艺有何区别?

 

斯塔伊:工艺通常是指手工艺。在很多伟大的建筑作品中,你看到的奇迹,都有手工制作的成分。陶板元素的使用和开发,就是一个很古老的工艺。现代工业的定制化生产,帮助这一古老的建筑工艺获得了新生。得益于此,我们才能够打造绿色环保的建筑外墙。

 

从传统意义上来说,建筑工艺是通过细节表现出来的:人们通过对细节的把控,来表现工匠对材料的加工痕迹。这是一系列不间断的过程,包括从思想、手工和工具到改造原材料,使之成为建筑部件等。我们倾向于认为,当代的建设速度不允许我们使用手工艺和如此精密复杂的细化程序。因为这会导致太多的手工劳动,造成成本过高进而影响现建筑的经济性。

 

 


建筑模型(左)和外墙结构(右)

 

工业化和批量生产实现了一定程度的标准化。这要求单一的建筑元素应得到简化和重复使用。然而,在过去的20年间,机械和工业却是更多地朝着定制化的方向发展,实现了复杂、多变的生产过程。从我们与NBK公司合作,开始设计柏林波茨坦广场德比斯大厦以及其他项目的外墙时,我们就有了这一感受。

 

当然在这里,“工艺”一词的内涵远不止于此。它还包括建筑实践和工作方法,涵盖设计,画图,制作模型,讨论,试验,犯错,挖掘一切可能的建筑因素,也涉及行业合作,发掘各种可能性。我希望大家了解,建筑师的建筑工艺,不仅仅在于他的草图制作、画图和设计能力,也在于他对所涉及的生产过程的深刻了解。

 

记者:您设计的伦敦圣依莱斯中心和柏林波茨坦广场这两个项目都应用了陶板元素。二者有何不同?

 

斯塔伊:伦佐•皮亚诺建筑工作室善于驾驭不同类型的项目。因为建造条件不同,这些项目看起来风格差异很大。波茨坦广场所处的是一个全新的环境,它没有直接的背景环境,更多是街道建设风格和20世纪的多样化。而在伦敦,圣依莱斯中心处于一个老街区,我们的设计必须符合周围的建筑风格。就建筑方面来说,这里会有很多限制。周边都是受保护的文物建筑和中世纪风格的街道,我们也想与之呼应。为达到这个目的,我们的工艺就是要打造一个可以快速融入周边的外观,与环境形成一种呼应关系。它们是两个风格迥异的项目。

 


伦敦圣伊莱斯中心(左)和柏林波茨坦广场(右)

 

为寻求合适的外墙元素,我们在工作室内制作了很多草图和模型,用材包括泡沫、木材以及其他材料。在这一过程中,我们与NBK紧密合作,测试实体模型的造型和安装方法。其中包括测试陶板的厚度、颜色和纹理。我们喜欢陶板,因为它的耐久性特别好。通过原料的配比和加工方式的不同,例如粘土的种类,挤压的形式和厚度,干燥,烧制,切割以及上釉等等,陶板可以呈现出各种不同的形态和颜色。细节是对设计理念的表达,也是质量的体现。为满足我们的要求,波茨坦广场和伦敦圣依莱斯中心所用陶板,都经过长期的测试和调整。在伦敦圣依莱斯中心,整个建筑采用700种不同造型的陶板。我们还使用了不同的颜色和釉面,去改善建筑的外观效果,给人们带来惊喜。在我看来,陶板是最佳的材料选择。我想不出来还有其他什么材料可以胜任这一任务了。

 

记者:据说NBK在伦敦圣依莱斯中心和柏林波茨坦广场这两个项目外墙设计中都起到了关键的作用,能谈谈您和NBK公司的合作吗?

 

斯塔伊:NBK是一家非常有创意的公司。在每一次项目合作中,我需要做不同的尝试,NBK总是非常乐意配合。在伦敦圣依莱斯项目中,我们一起合作,制作模型,研究模型,讨论材料的成分。这是最佳的合作方式。NBK的产品一直在改进,为建筑设计增加了更多可能性。比如,在合作波茨坦广场项目的时候,陶棍的长度还达不到120cm或130cm,而现在已经能做到150cm。此外,陶板造型也有所增加,建筑师有了更多选择。建筑材料在技术上的改进,让我们可以把项目做的更有竞争力。

 

 


伦佐•皮亚诺建筑工作室和NBK公司一起合作,研究模型,讨论外墙材料的颜色和样式

 

 

 

· 伦敦圣伊莱斯中心建筑设计

 

撰稿&供图/莫里斯•范•德•斯塔伊

 

伦敦圣依莱斯中心位于4个重要街区的交汇处,占地面积约7,000平米。北面布鲁姆伯利和卡姆登,东临霍尔本,南接科芬园,西靠SOHO和威斯敏斯特。它是一座大型综合建筑群,总建筑面积约65,000平米。其中包括42,000平米的办公空间和9,500平米的住宅空间。该项目最初由英国法通保险公司投资兴建,其后日本三菱地产公司加入。伦敦斯坦霍普公共股份有限公司进行开发。从2001年伦佐•皮亚诺建筑事务所接手设计工作伊始,直至2010年5月份这一项目完成施工,期间经历了9年的时间跨度。

 

设计目标和要点

 

原有的大厦是一栋非常不起眼的建筑,也为法通所有,供国防部使用。通过了解,我们知道法通公司有意在这一犯罪和反社会行为高发的街区,把伦敦圣依莱斯中心打造成一座高密度、混合型的建筑群,以强化这一公共领域,并打造强势的城市生活圈,从而实现圣依莱斯地区的再次繁荣。其中,一个主要的挑战是打造一栋视觉冲击力强的地标建筑,在尊重原有城市风貌和规模的同时,实现对这一选址的充分利用。在设计过程中,我们的主要目标包括:

 

1. 从该区域以及它在整个城市中的重要性两个方面出发,强化这一区域潜能。

2. 区域活动密集化,楼座的合理分布,尊重且与邻区形成互补。

3. 通过综合利用,改进这一公共区域。

4. 颜色、材料的谨慎选用以及认真的细化,对其所处的环境有提升作用。

5. 设计满足现今以及未来高标准的生态和可持续性要求。

 

|
立面图

 

可行性研究

 

为深入了解这一建筑地址有哪些可能性、机会以及限制,顾问小组对周边地区进行了研究。圣依莱斯中心的选址位于伦敦中心,在4-5个区域之间,每个区域拥有自己独特的个性,并且互不相连。从一开始我们就知道这一建造地址具有举足轻重的作用,是鲁姆伯利、科芬园和SOHO之间的枢纽。针对这一建筑群的建造目标,我们需要寻找一个平衡点:一方面我们会增加大量的建筑立面,而另一方面,卡姆登区希望能增加住房面积以及公共空间并加强公共职能,从而促进区域的繁荣。尤为重要的是,我们要把这里建造成城市的中心,同时使之成为相邻街区间的连接枢纽。在对诸多因素进行研究之后,我们有了现在的综合建设方案,包括办公室、住宅、零售店和公共广场。

 

建筑体块与分割

 

在设计中,一个要考虑的问题就是建筑的体块。因为它位于一个交汇的区域,处于中世纪风格的街道环境中,周边有许多受保护的古建筑物。与周边已有的建筑相比,新建筑体块的密集化使需要建造的立面数量翻倍。因此,我们努力寻求分割建筑体块的方法,使圣依莱斯中心在尊重周边街道和建筑的基础上,更好地融入周边环境。通过把建筑立面分割成21个不同的“面”,我们得以实现这一目的。这些不同的面,呈不同的角度分布在建筑四周。其中,13个朝向周边建筑和街道,8个朝向内部庭院。外朝向的表面拥有出色的陶板外墙,这一点相当重要。在不同的日光条件下,不同面的角度、光泽度和陶板之间的衔接会使建筑呈现出不同的外观。不同面的陶板之间相互作用,在周边建筑立面的映衬下,具有很好的装饰作用。

 


伦敦圣依莱斯中心建筑平面图(左图)&设计草图(右图)

 

广场的渗透和可接近

 

在底层,这个建筑群围绕一中心广场而建。这个广场是城市的中心,市民的好去处,也是布鲁姆伯利、霍尔本、科芬园、SOHO等街区的交汇点。为达到这一目的,全部的底层活动都尽量透明化,将建筑体块提升至街道水平6.5米以上。在此情况下,我们建造5个出入口,确保中心广场的最大可达性。在广场四周,分布有大量的餐馆和露台。通往办公楼的入口,被设计成公共的“工作大厅”。楼内的办公人员可以在这里会面,或与访客共同品尝咖啡。实际上,人们在周边的街道上就可以看到建筑底层的内部空间。这一体验因统一的底层天花,以及天花与天篷的连贯性,和广场中心的橡树装饰而得以提升。

 

 

 

· 伦敦圣依莱斯中心图片集锦

 


伦敦圣依莱斯中心

 


伦敦圣依莱斯中心

 


伦敦圣依莱斯中心

 


伦敦圣依莱斯中心

 


伦敦圣依莱斯中心

 

 

 

canada goose parka women
canada goose parka women